Brothers in arms.

My Uncle has passed.

He was the first male in the family to arrive on these hostile shores, and though low in education he quickly proved he knew more.

More than those who tried to keep him down, he made London his home town.

He created a business, bought a house, built a home, raised a family, he and his spouse.He sent for his younger sibling, my father, and showed him brotherly love, “stop chasing women and learn yourself a trade , and build a house with the money you save !”

For three years they were Plumber and Plasterer, brother and brother working together.

From my Uncle my Father learnt how to be a strong black man in this strange white man’s land.

The business they both built their sons were due to inherit, but I spoilt it all with dreams of being a poet. What they didn’t understand was that my yearning for poetry was testimony to a childhood of dreams they provided for me.

Examples of black manhood, in all it’s strengths and fragility, in all it’s wisdom and brutality.

As their grey hair fades and mine begins anew, I honour my Uncle and my Father for blessing me with a brighter view, with a backbone this country will never break, with a loving heart always seeking more love to create.

With Grandfathers and Uncles of whom l speak with pride to my son, a heroic generation, who came, saw, and got the job done.

Herbert, take your place among the greats,

we remember you, each time we feast from your always abundant plate.

Ase

Leave a comment